Ten things PR @ GSU has taught me

July 2, 2010 cjenkins8

comment #15

Linda Silfies

Ten things PR @ GSU has taught me

Linda,

Thanks for sharing this post. I feel that everyone should read this because it is 100% true. I have a LinkedIn account and it is very useful. Even if you still have time in school set it up and get your name out there. Connecting with professionals is the biggest start to your future.  Congratulate them on a project they did or just simply say hey. Let them know who you are. Having a well developed and updated resume is EXTREMELY important. Let them know what you are capable of.  Twitter is very important for networking, so having a twitter account can help if you use it properly. Job searching is a must. You do have to see what is out there. One mistake people make is that they have their heart set out on one thing and wait till after graduation to start looking. It is wise to have a plan B or even a plan C just in case.  Lastly, you do have to beware of facebook. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone to my mom’s place of business and heard them talking about someone’s facebook page. So be aware, be prepared, and thanks for posting this.

Christen

http://publicrelationswriter.wordpress.com/2010/06/20/ten-things-pr-gsu-has-taught-me/#comment-20

Entry Filed under: Blog Comments

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. caseysherwinprca  |  July 12, 2010 at 11:40 PM

    Dear Chrissy,
    I think you have a really cool blog. Im a dude so its not my style but I do think it is one of the most creative blogs I have seen and I’ve see a lot. I just recently walked with a PR degree and the only course that I had left was Intro to PR. Funny how that works but I know how you feel going into a new chapter of life. I’m not in Statesboro anymore but I know how the PR program goes so if you ever have any questions let me know.
    Sincerely,
    Casey Sherwin

    • 2. cjenkins8  |  July 13, 2010 at 12:30 PM

      Dear Casey,
      Thanks for the comment. I actually posted this blog only because it was required for my introduction to pr class. After working on it and actually interacting with people I decided to keep it. Thanks again and I’ll definitely keep in touch.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

del.icio.us

Twitter Updates

Chrissy’s Calender

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Posts

Chrissy’s Widget

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Top Rated

Future PR

Categories

 
